Memorial Day Weekend

It’s Memorial Day weekend, and I didn’t see my great uncle’s grave.  He was a veteran of the Vietnam War (I think?) and I never had the chance to meet him; either I was too little to remember him, or he died before I was born.  Either way, his body was below a tombstone when I was old enough to have a functioning memory that serves to this day.

 

I’m in my apartment on Memorial Day–Monday, one of the only days we get off at work.  Instead of enjoying the 85+-degree weather, I’ve been inside catching up on homework and The Wire.  I’ll be going out in a bit, but only to do a quick half-hour jog.  It’s nice to be able to get to jog around here, but the harbors around here–Belmont, to name one–make it difficult to get a nice glimpse of the lake when you’re jogging on the trail.  I still feel too close to the city to really enjoy the lakefront view I’m afforded.

It’s nice around here, in Lakeview East, but there really isn’t much of that lakefront effect you’d guess you have.  I’m only a few blocks away from the lake, and yet it doesn’t really seem like it.  It seems, rather, that I’m in the center of all the busy city life.  While nice, city life can get tiresome.  No parking (or, if you do get parking like me, it’s really, really tight and people watch you if you’re parked to them, as if I’m going to hit their car), tight streets, no real sense of nature, and some people can get crude.  Just yesterday when my fiancee and I were moving some of her stuff into the apartment some dude from a moving company, who parked in the alley with a big moving truck, yelled at us for trying to get into our own parking lot.  I asked my fiancee if he was yelling at us, but she told me not to do anything.  Turns out the whole lot of employees working for the moving company were foul-mouthed (Daily Moving Chicago, if you must know).

 

Life here is also pretty expensive around here.  When we were done unpacking yesterday and getting ready to make dinner, we realized we didn’t have salt so we traversed to the local Walgreen’s to get some.  I was perusing some of the other aisles, and I saw cereal for $5!  “Great Value!” the sticker read, too.

Leave a Reply

