Two years already?

Wow.  It’s been almost two years already since I put my last post.  And it wasn’t even an original post!  (‘Twas an even older piece I wrote many years ago; it’s not even that great.)

Anyway.  So much has happened since then.  I’ve gotten engaged (December 2009), started grad school (September 2010–finally) and moved out of my parents’ home (May 2011).  I’m starting this blog again primarily to get myself into the writing habit more as I used to be long ago.  In fact, it’s just to get my writing juices flowing; I don’t expect to edit this in any sort of way, but just leave the text as it is as I write it.  An imperfect draft, but the final version, so to speak.  (Hey, maybe I can rename this blog to “An Imperfect Draft” rather than that lame ol’ “digivel”).  I don’t even expect people to read this; this is for my own sanity and well-being.

As my first two weeks moved into Chicago, I’ve found it difficult to remain pure on my terms in my spiritual life.  By “own terms” I mean living by myself, and my “spiritual life” I’m referencing my relationship with God.  To be honest, I started getting pretty depressed in the shower–I think a lot when in the shower–and told myself that this isn’t where I want to be in my life.  Not that I won’t take it, but I just pray that the things God has in store for me come to fruition–but not on my terms.  That’s probably another thing I have to work on–patience.

What a horrible word that is.

Welp, time to get crackin’ on my studies.  I’ve got a presentation to give next week, and I’m not even halfway with a five-hundred page book that I started reading two weeks ago.  I may have to SparkNote it, unfortunately.  I so despise SparkNotes, but I have to admit it’s been a great aid this semester since I have to read two novels a week, and on top of that I work 45 hours a week.  Oh, and speaking of work, someone at the office got canned this week so now it’s leaving people abuzz thinking that they’re next.  I just can’t afford to get fired right now, what with grad school and my wedding coming up.  And the fact that I moved into an apartment that costs just around $1k total with everything.

Oh, man.  I pray I don’t get fired from this job, or any job at that!

Leave a Reply

